What Happens if You Are Charged with DUI More than Once?

Driving under the influence (DUI) is an illegal offense that relies on many factors to determine the legal consequences. One factor the courts consider is how many times a person has committed the same offense in the past.

BAC Limit

In Tennessee, the BAC of a driver must not exceed .08. If a person’s BAC is .20 or more, they can face enhanced penalties.

For people under the legal drinking age, a BAC of just .02 can result in a DUI. Furthermore, if a youth under the legal drinking age is found guilty of driving under the influence they may have their license revoked for 1 year, be responsible for paying a fine of $250, and sometimes commit to community service.

2nd DUI Offense

If a person is found guilty of a DUI for the second time, they face more severe punishments than the first.

These punishments are:

  1. jail sentence that ranges from 45 days to 11 months and 29 days;
  2. fine between $600 and $3,500;
  3. driver’s license revocation for 2 years;
  4. possible vehicle seizure;
  5. mandatory enrollment in an alcohol or drug treatment program;
  6. ignition interlock device installed in vehicle; if this is a person’s second conviction in 5 years, the ignition interlock device will be required for 6 months; or
  7. restitution payment for any pain and suffering the DUI may have caused.

3rd DUI Offense

The penalties increase with a third DUI offense. For instance, a person could face:

  1. jail sentence ranging from 120 days to 11 months and 29 days;
  2. fine between $1,100 and $10,000;
  3. driver’s license revocation for 6 years;
  4. possible vehicle seizure;
  5. mandatory enrollment in an alcohol or drug treatment program;
  6. ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle; if this is a person’s second conviction in 5 years, the ignition interlock device will be required for 6 months.

4th DUI Offense

If a person is charged with a DUI 4 or more times, it becomes a Class E felony; the penalties for which include:

  1. 1-year jail sentence (with a minimum of 150 consecutive days served);
  2. fine between $3,000 and $15,000;
  3. driver’s license revocation for 8 years;
  4. possible vehicle seizure;
  5. mandatory enrollment in an alcohol or drug treatment program;
  6. ignition interlock device installed in their vehicle; if this is a person’s second conviction in 5 years, the ignition interlock device will be required for 6 months.

Patton | Pittman Is on Your Side

Our DUI attorneys are skilled and experienced in criminal defense. We will work with you to create a solid defense and aggressively advocate for your rights.

Call our firm today at (931) 361-4477 or contact us online for your complimentary initial consultation.

Categories: 
Related Posts
  • Could Drinking Kava Tea Lead to a DUI Arrest? Read More
  • Aggravated DUI in Tennessee Read More
  • What Happens If a Refuse a Breath Test After a TN DUI Arrest? Read More
/

Request a Free Initial Consultation

Call 931-361-4477 or Fill This Form Out to Get the Legal Help You Need
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.