Understanding Tennessee Weapons Laws and How to Defend Yourself Against Them
While the Constitution continues to protect Americans’ rights to bear arms, states impose certain restrictions to protect the public from unnecessary access to tools of excessive force and danger. Tennessee incriminates anyone carrying a weapon without the appropriate permits. If you have been charged with illegal possession or carrying of weapons, our attorneys can challenge prosecutors with a compelling defense.
Common Defenses Used in Court
While many weapons are prohibited for carrying by the average person, others are legal for carry. If the weapon was in fact illegal, potential defenses against the charge include:
- The weapon was nonfunctioning
- It was being used to protect livestock from predators
- It was carried in case of a need to act in self-defense
- It belonged to an aggressor from whom you stole it to prevent harm done to you or others
Our team can review your case to identify and utilize relevant defenses in our fight to protect you from the harsh penalties of weapons crime charges.
Tennessee punishes those illegally carrying banned weapons depending on the nature and danger of the weapon in question. Penalties can range from misdemeanors to felonies:
- A switchblade knife and metal knuckles are both subject to a Class A misdemeanor charge, which can result in up to a year in jail
- A firearm silencer, short-barreled shotgun, and machine gun are all subject to Class E felony charges punishable by 1-6 years in prison
- An explosive of any kind can result in a Class B felony conviction punishable by 8-30 years in prison