As of mid-2021, Tennessee no longer requires a special permit to carry a concealed firearm. For many, this has left a bit of confusion over when they can or can’t carry, as there are still some restrictions. In this article, we will provide a broad overview of the current laws, helping clear up any questions you may have.
Who Can Carry a Concealed Firearm in Tennessee?
Most law-abiding citizens over 21 can carry a concealed gun without a permit. Some military members between the ages of 18 and 20 may also be allowed to carry as well.
Losing Your Concealed Carry Rights in Tennessee
The state is still rigid about making sure the right people can carry under the right conditions.
If you are accused of certain behaviors, you may lose your right to carry a hidden gun in public.
- DUI charges
- Accusations of stalking
- Domestic violence allegations
- A history of mental health illnesses
Many restraining orders also limit your second amendment rights. If you’ve been accused of any of these actions, contact an attorney. They may be able to help you restore your gun rights.
Concealed Carry Restrictions in Tennessee
The state also won’t allow you to simply carry your firearm anywhere. Most public areas will not allow you to carry a firearm. By “public,” we mean areas owned by the city for citizens to use. This includes parks, campgrounds, civic centers, government buildings, and so on.
It’s easy to get confused and break this rule by accident. You could simply be passing through an area and find yourself stopped and arrested for an illegal concealed carry. Make sure to contact a good attorney who can argue for your innocence in situations like these.
Penalties for Illegally Carrying a Firearm in Tennessee
If you are accused of illegally concealing a gun, you could face severe consequences in the state.
For a first offense, you can be charged with a Class C misdemeanor. This carries a 30-day jail sentence with fines up to $500.
Subsequent offenses can be charged as Class B misdemeanors, which are penalized by 6 months in jail.
If your gun goes off in a public place, you could be charged with a felony. Convicted felons found with a gun can also receive felony charges for possession.
Furthermore, you could be charged with a crime if you are carrying while under the influence. This could result in a year in jail with fines up to $2,500.
Get Help from an Attorney
Whenever the law changes, it takes a while for everyone to catch up. Some authorities may be unaware of the new laws, accidentally charging people under previous statutes.
Even those who are up to date with their legal knowledge can make mistakes. Often, it takes a while for a law to filter through the system, solidifying and gaining precedent on previous rulings.
If you’ve been charged with illegally carrying a concealed firearm, talk to one of our attorneys today. We stay current with changing laws, and we may be able to help. Our number is (931) 361-4477, and you can contact us online.