The right to bear arms is protected, but it does not mean everyone can carry one or that anyone can bring a weapon wherever they wish. The state of Tennessee has several requirements for gun-carry permits and, if you violate state law and carry a gun under illegal circumstances, there are a number of potential penalties. Continue reading to learn more.
Gun-Carry Violations in Tennessee
In Tennessee, individuals must have a permit to carry a gun. However, some people are not allowed to have a permit at all.
Below is a list of individuals who cannot obtain a gun permit in Tennessee:
- Those who are under 21, unless they are 18 and active-duty military
- Those who are not legal permanent residents or U.S. citizens
- Those who are subject to a protective order
- Those who are prohibited under federal law from possessing firearms
- Those who are convicted of a disqualifying misdemeanor or a felony
- Those who receive social security disability benefits due to alcohol or drug dependence
- Those who were dishonorably discharged from the military
- Those who were recently hospitalized for drug or alcohol abuse within the last 10 years if it was court-ordered or 3 years if it was voluntary
- Those who whom the court deemed to be at risk of serious harm due to mental illness
If you violate the state’s gun-carry laws, there are a variety of penalties you may face, depending on the severity of the offense.
Below are some of the penalties one may face:
- First-time violations for carrying a firearm without a permit are treated as Class C misdemeanors, resulting in a penalty of up to $500 and up to 30 days in jail.
- Second and subsequent violations are treated as Class B misdemeanors for which the penalty is a fine of up to $500 and up to 6 months in jail.
- Violations in locations that are open to the public with at least another person present are treated as Class A misdemeanors, which may incur up to a year in jail and a fine of up to $2,500.
If you are facing weapons charges in Tennessee, it is crucial to hire an experienced criminal defense attorney as soon as possible to protect your future.
Reach Out to Our Skilled Criminal Defense Team for a Consultation Today!
Weapons charges can pack some stiff penalties, so it is imperative that you retain skilled legal counsel. At Patton & Pittman Attorneys, our criminal defense team has the experience to get you through this trying time, so you can overcome the obstacles you are facing.
Call our law office today at (931) 361-4477 to set up a consultation.