The Difference Between Domestic & Aggravated Domestic Assault

A domestic violence charge can carry severe consequences in the State of Tennessee. You can be charged with basic domestic or aggravated domestic assault, depending on the specifics of the incident. Regardless of which level of domestic assault you face, a conviction could result in penalties, inability to obtain a firearm, and difficulty finding employment. Tennessee also has specific laws that govern domestic assaults that do not apply to other types of assault, so it’s imperative that you secure the assistance of a defense attorney to help you navigate the specifics of your situation.

Basic Domestic Assault vs. Aggravated Domestic Assault

A simple assault rises to the level of a basic domestic assault charge if it meets specific characteristics.

If the incident occurs between individuals who are:

  • Related by Marriage
  • Blood Relatives
  • Roommates or Cohabitating Partners
  • Minor or Adult Children of the Defendant

A domestic assault charge usually carries a Class A Misdemeanor classification in Tennessee. A Class A Misdemeanor carries a maximum sentence of 11 months and 29 days in jail and penalties of as much as $2500. Even though a basic domestic assault charge is a misdemeanor, if convicted, all firearms would need to be surrendered, and the charge can never be expunged from your record.

An aggravated domestic assault charge applies to incidents where the defendant is accused of brandishing a deadly weapon, choking, stabbing, or breaking the bones of an individual classified as a domestic party. An aggravated domestic assault is usually a Class C felony. If convicted, the charge carries a prison sentence of up to 15 years and penalties of as much as $10,000.

Serious Charges Require Serious Representation

At Patton Pittman, we will work tirelessly to build a case to help you fight your charges. Basic domestic assault and aggravated assault are serious crimes that carry life-altering consequences. With over 100 years of combined experience, our attorneys can use all we know about domestic assault defense on your behalf. We are dedicated attorneys who understand how stressful it can be when facing serious criminal charges. So, call us today at (931) 361-4477 to schedule a consultation to discuss your case.

Request a Free Initial Consultation

Call 931-361-4477 or Fill This Form Out to Get the Legal Help You Need
  • Please enter your first name.
  • Please enter your last name.
  • Please enter your phone number.
    This isn't a valid phone number.
  • Please enter your email address.
    This isn't a valid email address.
  • Please make a selection.
  • Please enter a message.