Domestic violence is a serious crime in Tennessee, and once someone is convicted of such a serious crime, it can be a life-changing event. With a proper defense, this type of charge could become a permanent detour of your life’s path forward. Criminal penalties in a domestic assault case are life-altering, and those convicted would have the choices available to them reduced immensely. A criminal defense attorney is the life preserver anyone convicted of a serious criminal charge would need to protect their freedom.
According to Tennessee Code §39-13-111, domestic abuse is defined as an assault against any of the following:
Adults or minors who are current or former spouses;
Adults or minors who live together or who have lived together;
Adults or minors who are dating or who have dated or who have or had a sexual relationship, but does not include fraternization between two (2) individuals in a business or social context;
Adults or minors related by blood or adoption;
Adults or minors who are related or were formerly related by marriage; or
Adult or minor children of a person with whom you have a relationship described in points 1-5
In Tennessee, domestic assault cases have the same penalties as other assault crimes. Being charged and convicted of domestic assault and abuse carries the following penalties up to 15 years for a Class C felony and a $10,000 fine.
At the misdemeanor level, an assault charge can be a Class A or Class B misdemeanor with the following penalties:
- Class A misdemeanors can carry either a fine or imprisonment or both. The Class A carries 11 months and 29 days in jail, fines up to $2500, and a defendant could face all or some of these penalties.
- Class B misdemeanors can carry either a fine of $500 or jail time of 6 months, or both.
The felony-level charge is aggravated assault, and it can be a Class C or Class D felony with the following penalties:
- Class C felonies are punishable by 3 to 15 years in prison and a fine of up to $10,000.
- Class D felonies are punishable by 2 to 12 years in prison and a fine of up to $5000.
Aggravated assault is charged based on the circumstances of the case. The prosecutor will be assessing if the assault was gratuitous, reckless, or intentionally inflicted.
If a defendant is convicted of domestic assault, they will lose their right to be permitted and carry a firearm, which includes hunting rifles. The offender will also be sentenced to complete an intervention program that is specifically instructional for people with violence and impulse control issues.
Call Today to Discuss the Details of Your Domestic Assault Case
Facing domestic assault charges is a serious offense, and the lawyers at Patton | Pittman Attorneys are available to help you build a defense in your case. We have been practicing law in Tennessee for many years, and our attorneys have more than 100 years of collective experience, which we will use to your advantage. Facing serious criminal charges can be an overwhelming and frightening experience because your freedom is on the line. Even if you are able to keep your freedom, a conviction could mean the loss of any rights and opportunities. Call today at (931) 361-4477 to schedule an appointment to discuss your case.