DUI charges are extremely serious and can have a lasting impact on your personal and professional life. These types of convictions could wind up hurting your job prospects, damaging your relationships with family and friends, and may even cost you your freedom.
If you are facing charges for a repeat DUI offense, make sure you know what you’re up against.
Understanding the Penalties
In Tennessee, the penalties for your first DUI offense begin with a minimum of 48 hours in jail, between $350 and $1,500 in fines, and a variety of driver’s license penalties. In some cases, drivers may lose their license for a year, or they may receive a restricted or conditional license to be used only for work, school, or other pre-approved purposes. However, if that individual’s BAC was over .15 at the time of arrest, hey could be subject to a mandatory ignition interlock breathing device.
These repercussions only apply to the first DUI charge, subsequent convictions could lead to much more severe penalties. For subsequent offenses, the penalties are as follows:
- Second Offense: The convicted person will face a fine of at least $600 but no more than $3,500 and a minimum jail sentence of 45 days. The individual is also likely to lose their driver’s license for two years, and will not qualify for a restricted or conditional license within the first year following their conviction. If the second DUI offense took place within 5 years of the first conviction, the individual might also be ordered to use an ignition interlock breathing device.
- Third Offense: At the third offense, the individual will face at least 120 days in jail, a fine ranging between $1,100 and $10,000, and they will have their driver’s license revoked for up to three years.
- Fourth Offense: When someone is arrested for a third DUI offense, they can face felony charges, which can result in far greater consequences. The individual will face a mandatory 100 days in jail, a fine of at least $3,000 but no more than $15,000, and a 5-year driver’s license revocation.
Additionally, anyone convicted of a DUI may also be tasked with mandatory DUI classes, community service, and additional fees. In Tennessee, drivers convicted of DUI offenses also need to purchase SR-22 insurance, which can be expensive.
If you are facing a DUI charge, whether it is your first or your fifth, it is absolutely crucial to obtain knowledgeable, aggressive legal representation. The best way to avoid these severe consequences is to put up a strong, reliable legal defense in your name. Our experienced DUI/DWI attorneys can help you fight serious charges, whether you were charged with driving under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
To get started today, contact Patton | Pittman Attorneys and ask for a free consultation.