Due to Tennessee’s vague legislative language, it can be difficult to understand exactly what type of weapon will get you convicted of a weapons charge.
As of 2013, it is legal to own any type of knife, including:
- throwing stars;
- sword canes; and
Concealed Weapon Charge
There are generally no prohibited knives under statute laws, but you may still be convicted if you are concealing a knife with the intent of using it against another person. Tennessee law focuses on the intent to commit a crime rather than on whether or not the the knife is concealed.
You could get a deadly weapon charge if you:
- commit an offense with a deadly weapon, other than a firearm, with the intent of employing it during an attempt to commit a dangerous crime or escape from the scene of a dangerous crime; or
- commit an offense with a deadly weapon with the intent of employing it during an attempt to commit a non-dangerous crime or escape from the scene of a non-dangerous crime.
It’s important to note that a dangerous crime is a felony such as murder, kidnapping, manslaughter, stalking, burglary, or drug offenses. While a switchblade is legal in Tennessee, it’s important to note that if you possess a switchblade during the commission of a dangerous crime you are subject to a hefty fine or a more severe sentence.
Carrying a Knife onto School Property
It’s considered a crime for any person to possess and/or carry a knife (open or concealed) onto school property if it is not being used for the sole purpose of instruction or school-sanctioned ceremonial reasons.
School property consists of:
- campus grounds;
- recreation areas; and
- athletic fields.
If you are found carrying a knife on school grounds, you could face a felony conviction with penalties of up to 6 years in prison and a fine of up to $3,000.
Patton | Pittman Can Help You
Our primary goal in a weapon-related case is to prove fault in the law and help you get your weapon back. If you have been arrested for a knife-related crime, reach out to our criminal defense lawyers today.
Contact our firm online or give us a call at (931) 361-4477 for a FREE case evaluation.